More solargraphs, a mere 13-day exposure!

As I collected my last set of solargraph ‘cameras’ – see here – I decided to put out some more, but this time, for a much shorter period of time. The idea was to show more detail in the surrounding landscape. It was partially successful, and I got a lovely image of a feature in the grounds of Wentworth Castle, Barnsley, called the Rotunda.

Wentworth Castle Rotunda, after a mere 13-day exposure!

Wentworth Castle Rotunda, after a mere 13-day exposure!

However, part of the fun of this process is the unpredictable nature of it, from whether the ‘cameras’ will still be there, to what kind of image has formed, to how much I decide to play around with post-processing. Even the above image looks a little surreal, but sometimes, I decide to play around more, just to see what happens, using a few techniques of my own.

Rotunda as 'little planet', taken to the extreme perhaps?

Rotunda as ‘little planet’, taken to the extreme perhaps?

Sometimes, the surrealism is added during the exposure itself. Below, the b&w paper I use as ‘film’ had got slightly bent as I pushed down the lid of the film-tub, causing the light to reflect around inside it some. The main building and chimneys can just be made out, just right of centre on the skyline:

Distorted sun-trails due to bent 'film'

Distorted sun-trails due to bent ‘film’

This time, the building is angled – centre-shot – as the ‘camera’ was tied to a hawthorn branch, as I was running out of plastic twine! A bit of false-colour was added, but I quite like the result.

More abstract due to the odd angle, and some false colour

More abstract due to the odd angle, and some false colour

So, a bit of a mixed bag, but I’m happy with the results. There are a few more to see on my photo-website…

Wentworth Castle, Barnsley, solargraphs from the parkland

As an aside, 35mm film-canisters are now becoming so hard to get hold of that I have had to buy a batch from ebay. Managed to get 50 at a decent price, so that should last me for a while, I hope!

About Chris Senior

Photographer, wit, travel-junkie, MSc student and practising eccentric! Prog rock nut and baker of tasty cakes.
This entry was posted in photos, techniques. Bookmark the permalink.