Rainy-day urbex

After the last expedition to photograph abandoned buildings in Sheffield, I was given a lead on one in an area I thought I knew very well. However, this site – despite it’s large size – is tucked away on a slope between a river and a railway, and is not visible from the road, so I was amazed to see it for myself, even after checking it out on Google Earth.

Space to play in this old building

Space to play in this old building

Given the heavy rain, this was definitely a fun place to play and the rain provided some interesting reflections as well.

Roof detail on puddle

Roof detail on puddle

As usual, a site like this is full of contrasts and interesting details, and kept me busy for a few hours, looking for interesting aspects, whilst trying not simply to take ‘record’ shots of the graffiti-art.

Amazing how the metal structure ages

Amazing how the metal structure ages

Nature is, of course, making itself felt again but what I really love is the ways different materials age, particularly the metals in the construction

Riveting detail!

Riveting detail!

Eventually, it was time to sprint across the waste-ground to the car and go in search of coffee, but I think that a winter day with low sun could provide some stark, fascinating light within the structure, so watch this space!

Nature always finds a way to flourish

Nature always finds a way to flourish

See the full gallery here: http://www.pbase.com/pawsforthought/rainy_day_urbex

About Chris Senior

Photographer, writer, website designer, dedicated environmentalist, GIS expert and more! Please browse my websites and see if I can help you.
This entry was posted in photos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainy-day urbex

  1. Pingback: Simple Photoshop tutorial (works in Pixlr too!) | PhotosMatter

Comments are closed.